NO-ON Brain Music was exhibited at the MUTEK Tokyo 2018

DATE:November 02, 2018 12:00 - November 04, 2018 23:00
PLACE:Miraikan National Museum of Emerging Science and Innovation


Listen to sounds generated by the brain.

Could there be times in which we experience emotions that can’t be expressed with words?
For example, the sunset that repeats itself the same way everyday suddenly tugs at your heart.
The word “sorrow” alone doesn’t describe the feeling, or more so, no words seem to describe the feeling.
In moments like this, what would happen if we were able to release these emotions as music using our brainwaves?
What would happen if you obtained a way to express and share your emotions to others?
NO-ON is an interactive art piece built to allow us to think about this simple question.



Composition from Brain Waves

Once the person sitting in the chair is equipped with an EEG brain-computer interface, they can then proceed to select sound and video sets. By reading 6 types of brain waves (low alpha wave, high alpha wave, low beta wave, high beta wave, low gamma wave, high gamma wave) and additionally, meditation and attention parameters, we can use this data in sound sets to begin generative composition. Simultaneously, each type of brain wave data is used to change video playback speed and effects in real time.



EEG Headset:NeuroSky MindWave Mobile 2

Projector:Canon LV-WX300UST [x3]

Speaker:Fostex NF04R [x2]

Subwoofer:Fostex PM-SUB8 [x2]

Interface:RME Fireface UFX II [x1]

Software:Cycling ‘74 MAX 8 and Ableton Live 10


NO-ON Sample



Konel + objet α
Chief Producer :Mitsuyo Demura (Konel)
Music Direction / System Designer :Wataru Iwata(objet α / Konel)
Creative Director :Dai Miyata (Konel)
Technical Director :Yasuhiro Ogino (Konel)
Creative Technologist :Kenji Jones (Konel)
Producer :Tatsuya Sato (Konel)

Technical Collaborators

Video Director/VFX Designer :Kota Uehira (PLANEON)
Generative Designer :Hironobu Nakamura
Music/System Designer:Akimasa Yamada
Engineer : Trent Brooks

Visual Artists

Shuji Hirai
Masaki Ueda
Koji Furuta
Reiji Isoi(Heliographie)
Jyunki Mine